Posts: 11,193
Threads: 649
Joined: May 2009
Since it is a script call, you could have it work in-battle.
May look a little odd with them popping in/out of position when the battlers refresh. *shrugs*
Posts: 1,126
Threads: 43
Joined: May 2009
Ok, I was asking because there could have been some initialization code run at the beginning of the battle, with which a such script call could conflict.
I know there could be some strange pop effect, but after all there is already some when you add/remove characters/summons if they are not the last ones in the order of the party.
Posts: 42
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2009
Yo, just gotta say that I'm loving the script. However, I've encountered a particularly annoying bug. Basically, whenever an enemy transforms, their battler graphic remains completely blank until they make an action.
For example:
First...
This is the battle screen before any of the actors make their actions. The ghosts are set to transform at > 50% of their HP.
Then...
After the first ghost's HP is reduced to > 50%, the battler graphic disappears and the transformed monster's graphic doesn't appear.
Until...
The enemy steps forward to perform an attack, revealing the battler graphic. After that, the battler of the transformed enemy is a-okay for the remainder of the battle.
Other than setting the configuration to use the default battlers, I didn't touch the code at all. This was on a blank project with no other scripts on it other than this one.
Posts: 11,193
Threads: 649
Joined: May 2009
Hmm... That is an interesting problem. It is one I have not encountered, nor really looked into. On a comical note, an old friend of mine managed to create a werewolf transformation BEFORE I THOUGHT OF IT with an earlier version using spritesheets. I'm the guy with the werewolf avatar *grumble*
I will look into it. The handling of changing battlers graphics is a little tricky as the system wants to re-fresh and 'dice' them up for spritesheets, so I may have to introduce a temporary script call so it knows a transformation will be taking place during combat. This is just off the top of my head.
Posts: 1,126
Threads: 43
Joined: May 2009
It doesn't happen to me in the CTB with version 12.3.
I have had a similar problem in the past though, and I remember toying with the appear method in the Sprite_Battler class.
Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Dec 2009
This has probably been asked before, but what exactly is it I do to get Cybersam 7 pose sheets to show correctly as battlers?
Example:
http://i49.tinypic.com/sdiqkz.jpg
It comes up as just the sheet as usual, while everything else, including the enemies, become chopped.
Posts: 11,193
Threads: 649
Joined: May 2009
If you are using 'only' Cybersam battlers, just use THIS configuration page as a template.
DerVVulfman Wrote:Pre-Rendered Configs
Cybersam Configuration ... a configuration system for Cybersam's 7-pose system
I had it in the first page. :cheery:
Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Dec 2009
I tried that, like I said, everything was chopped :[
Posts: 11,193
Threads: 649
Joined: May 2009
I just took a look at your spritesheet. I shoulda done that to begin with. You have an empty 8th slot in that sheet.
Do all of your battlers have an empty 8th slot?
You could eliminate the 8th slot, trimming off the bottom most 64px of the image. That would do it for that spirtesheet. Again... do all of your battlers have an empty 8th slot?
Well, if they ALL have an empty 8th slot, you could go and cheat. Just change the number of poses (MNK_POSES) to a value of 8. That way, you wouldn't have to trim every battler.
Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Dec 2009
Alright, is the MNK_POSES in the configuration or some other script?
On a sidenote: Does anyone know who owns that battler so I can credit them? I'd also like to see more of their work. I noticed Charlie Fleed's CBS demo has a different version of the same character in it but I prefer this one.
Edit: And are there charsets for them?