Save-Point
Actor names in Quest Script - Printable Version

+- Save-Point (https://www.save-point.org)
+-- Forum: Games Development (https://www.save-point.org/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Code Support (https://www.save-point.org/forum-20.html)
+--- Thread: Actor names in Quest Script (/thread-6263.html)



Actor names in Quest Script - jreagan406 - 03-02-2017

Hey everyone! sorry for being such a burden and posting so much. I have Game Guy's Quest Log script (I love it mainly because of its simplicity). All quest ID's, names and whatnot are made with strings. I want to make "personal quests" that give players a chance to delve deeper into the characters, kinda like KOTOR. Problem is I have no idea how to make the actor's name show up. Since you can edit the actor's names in the game, I can't just write the actor's name as a string. Any help is appreciated!

[Image: script_zpszme2bmme.png]


RE: Actor names in Quest Script - DerVVulfman - 03-03-2017

The problem (or solution) is sorta complex. You see, the default message system has a special mechanism to substitute a combination of letters and symbols for the name of the hero. That combination being \n[1] (or suitable) to use the name(n) of actor (1). If such a mechanism could be added to the system that displays THIS stuff, you're good to go.

I take it you're allowing the player to change names of their characters, otherwise you wouldn't need a method to have the names be dynamic in the quests list.


RE: Actor names in Quest Script - jreagan406 - 03-03-2017

Yes, the player can change the actor's names, that's the problem. I don't want to take that away. I've thought about, instead of using the actual names in the Quest script, use nicknames. I wanted to use the actual names, but I'll go with whatever works. In the game every character has a backstory, and if you complete it, they will trust you more. It's a lot like Mass Effect's loyalty system.


RE: Actor names in Quest Script - JayRay - 03-03-2017

okay, so basically, even though you know your main character, is say, Actor 1...

and you know that game actor 2 is going to be involved for these 10 quests,

and game actor 3 will be for those ten quests...

You might go into the quest itself... and where it say say something like

"It seems like Gloria is down, You DO know she likes blueberries"
and if Gloria is Actor 3, you can go

"It seems like "+$game_actors[3].name+" is down, you know she likes blueberries"

Now no matter what the player names Actor 3... you can see the difference

"It seems like Hjelgen Stormthrower is down, you know she likes blueberries"

Now, of course, if you have a GUY in that slot, that might complicate things, but for gender-locked characters, you should be ok.


Did that help? There's a lot of ways in scripts like this to get tons of stuff in those returns. DerVVulfman has some of them in this thread:
http://save-point.org/thread-2920.html


RE: Actor names in Quest Script - jreagan406 - 03-03-2017

(03-03-2017, 06:14 PM)JayRay Wrote: okay, so basically, even though you know your main character, is say, Actor 1...

and you know that game actor 2 is going to be involved for these 10 quests,

and game actor 3 will be for those ten quests...

You might go into the quest itself... and where it say say something like

"It seems like Gloria is down, You DO know she likes blueberries"
and if Gloria is Actor 3, you can go

"It seems like "+$game_actors[3].name+" is down, you know she likes blueberries"

Now no matter what the player names Actor 3... you can see the difference

"It seems like Hjelgen Stormthrower is down, you know she likes blueberries"

Now, of course, if you have a GUY in that slot, that might complicate things, but for gender-locked characters, you should be ok.


Did that help? There's a lot of ways in scripts like this to get tons of stuff in those returns. DerVVulfman has some of them in this thread:
http://save-point.org/thread-2920.html

Works like a charm. I got a syntax error at first, but I put the "+$game_actors[3].name+" in between two strings, so it looks like:

   when 13 then return "" +$game_actors[2].name+ ""

I don't think it's gonna cause any errors. I tested it out by changing the actor's name a few times and each time it displayed it. Thank you! You guys rock!


RE: Actor names in Quest Script - JayRay - 03-07-2017

WOW! I actuallygave a good solid advice that worked? in RMXP? (actually legitimately shocked!)

Hey, I'm glad you got it to work... and yeah, hope everything works well for you.