Save-Point
CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, Version 3.2 - Printable Version

+- Save-Point (https://www.save-point.org)
+-- Forum: Material Development (https://www.save-point.org/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: Scripts Database (https://www.save-point.org/forum-39.html)
+--- Thread: CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, Version 3.2 (/thread-2298.html)



CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - DerVVulfman - 01-02-2010

That is the dreaded F12 bug, known throughout RMXP-dome which does not like some scripting. It happens.

You can eliminate this by using an F12 script like Zeriab's F12 fix. However, the use of this would negate and prevent you from resetting your game through the F12 button.

Hi, Charlie.


CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - fallenravenlyn - 01-02-2010

I try not to press 12 but then I forget about the error...and crash. I actually checked just make sure it wasn't because of something I did. Thanks Cheery


CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - Trickster - 01-02-2010

hahaha without even looking at the script and recalling from memory if you get a stack too deep after F12ing your game

what happens is that a hidden method was aliased

and when you F12 it goes back through all of your scripts and reloads them all if you alias a method with the same new name twice what happens is an infinite loop hahaha owned

but its easily fixed just check to see if the new method name you created exists if so then don't alias it again else alias it.


CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - Bndbyplyrply - 01-02-2010

I've got everything working now. Exept in the battle. The Skills tab won't show up. Does anyone else have this problem? Thanks!

:cheery:

No advertising. - PK8


CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - ciccio92 - 01-02-2010

I have some troubles with the script "summons 0.8" in the line 840 and he say that: " undefined method 'available' for nil:NilClass "
So, I configured all summons with the guide that you've done, and I can't find where the problem is. Can you give me a help?


CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - sawai159 - 01-02-2010

ciccio92 Wrote:I have some troubles with the script "summons 0.8" in the line 840 and he say that: " undefined method 'available' for nil:NilClass "
So, I configured all summons with the guide that you've done, and I can't find where the problem is. Can you give me a help?

I had the same problem,you did something wrong. Also,Charlie said he forgot to update the guide,so,you have to do everything like in the demo.. Take a closer look at Common Events,maybe there's the problem.


Btw,Charlie,thanks for the help,now everything is working fine! ^^


CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - Charlie Fleed - 01-02-2010

Trickster Wrote:hahaha without even looking at the script and recalling from memory if you get a stack too deep after F12ing your game

what happens is that a hidden method was aliased

and when you F12 it goes back through all of your scripts and reloads them all if you alias a method with the same new name twice what happens is an infinite loop hahaha owned

but its easily fixed just check to see if the new method name you created exists if so then don't alias it again else alias it.

do you mean something like

Code:
unless self.method_defined?(:ctb_initialize)
  alias_method(:ctb_initialize,:initialize)
end

?

EDIT: it looks like this does not work...
EDIT2: I found that someone uses "unless $@" ... it seems to work, but i don't get it.

Bndbyplyrply Wrote:I've got everything working now. Exept in the battle. The Skills tab won't show up. Does anyone else have this problem? Thanks!

:cheery:

-------------------------------------
Link2Games The Ultimate Gaming And Comedy Website!

www.link2games.webs.com

Read the Configuration of Individual Battle Commands.

ciccio92 Wrote:I have some troubles with the script "summons 0.8" in the line 840 and he say that: " undefined method 'available' for nil:NilClass "
So, I configured all summons with the guide that you've done, and I can't find where the problem is. Can you give me a help?

You must have missed something. Check carefully the whole procedure.

sawai159 Wrote:
ciccio92 Wrote:I have some troubles with the script "summons 0.8" in the line 840 and he say that: " undefined method 'available' for nil:NilClass "
So, I configured all summons with the guide that you've done, and I can't find where the problem is. Can you give me a help?

I had the same problem,you did something wrong. Also,Charlie said he forgot to update the guide,so,you have to do everything like in the demo.. Take a closer look at Common Events,maybe there's the problem.


Btw,Charlie,thanks for the help,now everything is working fine! ^^

Let me clarify that the update I forgot to do is only limited to the names of the two skills Trincea and Altruismo, now named differently. As regards the rest, the guide has indeed been updated.


CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - Ace - 01-02-2010

Charlie could you tell me where I can change the battle algorithm/ damage calculation? I use a script so the max stats are limited to 255 (like FF games) and now I have to change the damage calculation to get the max damage of 99999 if the atk stat is at 255 and the defense of the enemy under, let's say 70.

thx in advance


CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - Charlie Fleed - 01-02-2010

The damage calculation algorithm in this BS considers both the ATK and STR stats in order to determine the amount of damage. If you don't use the strength value, you can put a default value for it to be used by every actor and enemy, then you can test a battle with the values you wrote and adjust ATTACK_DAMAGE_RANGE_CORRECTION in the configuration until attacks deliver a damage that satisfies you.
If you want a limit to 99999 I will have to write some code because there isn't one.


CTB - A Final Fantasy X-like Battle System, version 3.1 (NEW Jul 4 2010) - Ace - 01-02-2010

hmm i think i keep the 999 states limit, because even if i correct the damage with this the pdef is way to low. also it messes up with my bars and so on, so maybe 999 isn't that bad^^ but ty anyway!

so i am sitting here for now about... 4? Yes, about 4 hours and try to make my custom battlestatus window... could you edit it for me (just the window with name, HP, MP and Limit, the windowsize should not be influenced by the number of battlers, it should be as high as the actor command window ) so it looks something like that:

Content Hidden

EDIT: Could you also put the atb bars behind the limit bars and make them as long as the limit bars and the same width? And over it there should be written "Wait"

right now it looks like that for me, if you want to change it not from scratch i give you my edited version (Edit: forget that, I made totally crap xD) , but there is something weird in it -> at the right end of the box every bar is cutted of, in this screen the blue one:

Content Hidden

EDIT2: Also i found 2 little bugs: when i use the atb bars and the agility is very high, the bar fills not from scratch. it's almost full from the beginning.
The second bug is, when you set up a fight with "continue even when loser" in an event and you lose, the game over screen appears although.^^